Always a popular trip while staying in Jackson CA is the Amador County Museum on Church Street in Jackson, California. Its 15 rooms of Greek revival style architecture hold an amazing array of items and artifacts relating to the earliest days of the county. An exhibition into the history of gold, the fashions and clothing of past eras, the interior of a Victorian bedroom and parlor lounge, a collection of Native American interest and pieces relating to Chinese American history are all fascinating, creating the perfect way to spend a day immersed in times gone by. The range of items is phenomenal, from antiques and furniture through basketry, painting, prints and drawings, textile pieces, clothing and costumes, decorative artistry, ethnic and tribal art to archaeology too.
Built in 1854 as a private dwelling, the house was designed to be the home of one of the town’s earliest known settlers, Mr. Armstead C Brown. For almost one hundred years, various generations of the Brown family lived in the house, until it was sold to the County of Amador by the last descendent in 1950. The County honored the building’s position in antiquity by opening it as a museum of local interest, popular with the surrounding community and visitors alike.
A current exhibition shows models of the Kennedy and North Star mines. Visitors are transported back to the 1920s era, able to watch large scale replicas of the equipment used in the mines in action. Three models show the head frame hoisting equipment, the stamp mill and of course the famous Tailing Wheels from Kennedy Mine as well. The original Mr. Brown traveled to the area in pursuit of gold, so it seems only right that this part of history is honored in the present.
Today, the museum is open every Friday, Saturday and Sunday between 11am and 3pm. Special tours can be made by arrangement.